These awards were presented on May 13<sup>th</sup> at the Eighteenth Annual Independence Area Dollars for Scholars Awards Night held at the Independence Jr/Sr High School Auditorium. Over \$74,000 was awarded to Independence area seniors!

Independence Area Dollars for Scholars Board of Directors

Erik Bohlken, President Nancy Dodge, Vice-President Jeff Rummel, Treasurer Debbie Curry, Secretary Bret Adams Connie Arend Shelly Bertelli Marty Brown Susan Johnson Mikel Markey Anne McMillan Russ Reiter Rhonda Sheets

Independence Area Dollars for Scholars P.O. Box 384 Independence, IA 50644

Website: <u>www.independence.dollarsforscholars.org</u> Email: <u>IndeeDFS@gmail.com</u>

# Independence Area Dollars for Scholars 2020 Scholarship Recipients

## Name of Scholarship

Advanced Family Eye Care – Dr. Doran Espe Memorial Scholarship Douglas Allen Anderson Memorial Scholarship Roger J. Anderson Memorial Scholarship BankIowa Scholarships Bar Association Scholarship Charles and Alice Bell Family Scholarship Beta Sigma Phi Scholarship Bill's Pizza and Smokehouse Scholarship Debbie Brodigan Memorial Scholarship Bruening Rock Products Scholarship Buchanan County Health Center Auxiliary Scholarship Buchanan County Soil & Water Conservation District Scholarship Chautauqua Literary Scholarship Consolidated Energy Company Scholarship Corcoran Memorial Scholarship Frank & Sally Craig Scholarship for Class Valedictorian Declaration Chapter #278 – Order of the Eastern Star Scholarship Jonathan Dodge Memorial Scholarships

Edwin Dukes Valedictorian

Sheri Earles Memorial Scholarship East-West Football Scholarship Eschen/Tarpy NAPA Scholarship Gladys and Ralph Farris Estate Scholarships

First United Methodist Church Scholarships Zach Fischels Financial Planning Initiative Scholarship Hubert J. and Mildred M. Freeman Memorial Scholarship Name of Recipient(s) Brittney Klever

Shayanne Whitman

Dylan Reuther Hallei Gerken, Ethan Vanderpool Mark Morkel Hannah Anderson Jered Jensen Megan Wood Kyle Eilers Emily Coonrad Mattea Wall Landry Jones

Ellie Nabholz Ethan McCormick Joseph Burke, Caroline Reyner Eliab Johnson

Kenzie Fischels, Marina Meyer, Mary Mattalyn Puffett, Dylan Reuther, Logan Schmitt Joseph Burke, Connor Davison, Jenavieve Grover, Abby Kleve, Avery Liss, Mary Mattalyn Puffett, Caroline Reyner Allison Zieser Kaleb Lamphier Grant Lympus Jenavieve Grover, Michael Higgins, Kaleb Lamphier, Caroline Reyner, Parker Sweeney Cora Krueger, Emily Williams

Jackson Rummel

Cole Davis

## Name of Scholarship

Friends of Dollars for Scholars

Emma Funk PEO Memorial Scholarships GMM – The Duane Geater Memorial Scholarship Hazel Grant Memorial Scholarship Reeves Hall Memorial Scholarship Laura Handy Visual Arts Scholarship LTJG William J Handy Memorial Scholarships Bill & Betty Hatfield Memorial Scholarship Donnie and Ruth Hearn Male & Female Athlete of the Year Ron Hess Memorial Scholarship Lester and Ken Hoffman Memorial Scholarships George R. Hood Memorial Scholarships Hookanliner Sportmen Club Scholarships Independence Community PTO Scholarships Independence Community School District Administrators/District Managers Award Independence Fire Dept. Scholarship Independence Fraternal Order of **Eagles Scholarship** Independence Garden Club Scholarship Independence Ladies Literary Scholarship Independence Lions Club General Scholarships Independence Lions Club Speech Award Independence Rotary Club Scholarship Independence Teachers' Association Scholarships

#### Name of Recipient(s)

Bailey Andersen, Charlotte Bowers, Joseph Burke, Logan Close, Emily Coonrad, Tyler Corkery, Cara Fischels, Brandon Haas, Ashlyn Hemsath, Brittney Klever, Peyton Lolwing, Elizabeth Moore, Mark Morkel, Ellie Nabholz, Tayden Ray, Abby Schildroth, Jadyn Schultz, Jenna Smith Cameron Wellner, Matthew Zieser Jenna Smith, Sophie Wolf

Caleb Kilby

Jenna Murphy Janson Turner Lauryn Henderson

Kyle Eilers, Jenna Smith

Joseph Burke

Logan Schmitt, Allison Zieser

Makenzie Homan Annabelle Magsamen

Faith Janaszak, Abby Kleve, Sophie Wolf Bryn Jones, Parker Sweeney

Alaina Butters, Abby Kleve

Cara Fischels

Jadyn Schultz Caroline Reyner

Landry Jones

Gabriella Good

Hannah Anderson, Ashlyn Hemsath

Jenavieve Grover

Emma Hansen

Matthew Doyle, Jenavieve Grover, Julia Hurley, Mark Morkel

# <u>Name of Scholarship</u>

Julie Jack Memorial Scholarships

Vicki Lynn Klotzbach Memorial Scholarship Knights of Columbus Scholarship Carl and Florence Kruempel Memorial Scholarship Valerie Martinson Medical Scholarship Valerie Martinson Memorial Scholarship Gerald McCalley Memorial Scholarship John L. & Viola (McBee) McMorris Sr. Memorial Scholarships Mustang Athletic Boosters **Club Scholarships** Jeannie Neeley Mentoring Scholarship Northeast Security Bank **Business Scholarship** North-South Football Scholarship Bob Ohl Memorial Scholarship Alvin and Goldie Peters Memorial Scholarship Print Express Scholarship R & R Coffee Group Scholarship Floyd Rosencrans Family Fund Scholarships Rydell of Independence Scholarship St. John PTO Scholarships Mike Thomas Memorial Scholarships Eva K. Tiffany Memorial Scholarship Wilbur H. Tiffany Memorial Scholarship Tuesday Evening Tennis Club, and Independence Tennis Couples' Association Scholarships - Girls Tuesday Evening Tennis Club, and Independence Tennis Couples' Association Scholarship - Boys Janine K. Venzke Memorial Scholarship VFW Auxiliary Scholarship Steven and Linda Walthart Scholarship Jr. Wendling Memorial Scholarship Robert L. Wiediger, Esther Wiediger, and Mildred Wiediger Scholarships Women Celebrating Diversity Scholarship

#### Name of Recipient(s)

Mary Mattalyn Puffett, Logan Schmitt Makenzie Homan

> Alaina Butters Taylor Justason

Anna Ruffcorn Keegan Beyer Joseph Burke Connor Davison, Avery Liss

Blake Bartz, Anna Ruffcorn, Jadyn Schultz, Shayanne Whitman Jenavieve Grover Jackson Rummel

> Makenzie Homan Aaron Lyon Bryn Jones

Lauryn Henderson Paxton Fredericksen Landry Jones, Savannah Kallaus, Keegan Zimmerly Grant Lympus Matthew Doyle, Julia Hurley Brayden Holt, Annabelle Magsamen Allison Zieser Cara Fischels

> Marina Meyer, Elizabeth Moore

Ethan Vanderpool

#### Jenna Murphy

Emily Coonrad Keegan Zimmerly Keegan Zimmerly Lauryn Henderson, Dylan Moffatt

Emma Hansen