### **Dollars for Scholars Officers**

Freddie Davis, President William Streeter, Vice President Michele Gale-Barnes, Treasurer Anissa Sacchino, Secretary

### Board of Directors, HMHCA-Dollars for Scholars

James EdelenBrenda WalkerAngela RobinsonEarle GumbsConnie LawsonVanessa N. MooreNellie OuztsCaster LettClarence Wright

### Contact Us

Hillcrest-Marlow Heights Civic Association – Dollars for Scholars 3847 Branch Avenue (Shops at Iverson) Suite 102, Temple Hills, MD 20748

www.hillcrest-marlowheights.dollarsforscholars.org or https://hillcrestmarlowheightscivicassociation.com/

PayPal: hmhca.ds@gmail.com

Cashapp: \$hmhcads or hmhca.ds@gmail.com

The Hillcrest-Marlow Heights Civic Association Dollars for Scholars (HMHCA-DS) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) charitable organization with operations financed solely from donations, fundraisers and grants. HMHCA-DS is a volunteer organization with no paid staff.

The Hillcrest-Marlow Heights Civic Association initiated the scholarship program in 1988. In 2010, the Scholarship Program transitioned to a local chapter of Dollars for Scholars under the national program of Scholarship America. The purpose of the HMHCA-DS program is to provide a process whereby families can work together to generate funds for our community youth. HMHCA-DS has awarded scholarships of more than \$888,000.

HMHCA-DS extends heartfelt appreciation to all persons, donors elected officials, businesses, churches for making this ceremony possible. Thank you for your continued support through time, effort, and monetary contributions.

A very special thank you to the Prince George's County Local Development Council, Rev. Jeffrey Chandler, Chairman.



# The 30<sup>th</sup> Annual Scholarship Awards Ceremony

Thursday, July, 9 2020 7:00 p.m.

Virtual Scholarship Ceremony Temple Hills, Maryland 20748

Sponsored by Hillcrest-Marlow Heights Civic Association

Earle A. Gumbs, President

George W. Hanna Sr., Vice President

# <u>Awards Program</u>

### Invocation

### **Opening and Introduction**

Fred Davis, Chair Hillcrest-Marlow Heights Civic Association (HMHCA)—Dollars For Scholars

### **Remarks**

Freddie Davis III, Full Sail University Myles Loftin, Parsons Design Ashley Williams, Bridgewater College

# Award Presentations

Joanne Cash-Neverdon, HMHCA, Chairperson Education Committee Most Improved 8<sup>th</sup> Grade Student Award Outstanding 8<sup>th</sup> Grade Student Award

Fred Davis, HMHCA—DS Chair
Dollars for Scholars Awards
Special Award: Ernest Lee Person Memorial Scholarship Award

### **Remarks & Recognition of Elected Officials**

Prince George's County Council Member, District 7 Rodney C. Streeter

Prince George's County Council Member, District 8 Monique Anderson-Walker

### **Closing**

Scholarship Applications available at: www.hillcrest-mhillcrest-marlowheights.dollarsforscholars.org

## 2020 Scholarship Award Recipients

2020 Scholarship Hward Recipionis				
Name	High School		College	Major
Chloe Baltimore	Bishop McNamara		Pace Univ	Business
Shekinah A. Banks	Bishop D. O'connell		Hampton Univ	Arts & Humanities
Shadae Debraux	Bishop McNamara		Morgan State Univ	Accounting
Darnell Duckett	Potomac HS		Salisbury State	Health & Medicine
Patrick Ekeu	St. Anselm's Abbey		Univ South Carolina	Computer Science
Carisma Forrest	Potomac HS		Johnson & Wales	Culinary Arts
Taylor Hancock	Crossland HS		Southern Univ	Criminal Justice
Takeima Hawkins	Bishop McNamara		Drexel University	Business
Carrington Harley	Oxon Hill HS		Univ. of Maryland	Information Systems
J'adore Loftin	Duke Ellington		Spelman College	Social Sciences
Lauren Hawthorne- Rogers	Oxon Hill HS		Univ. of Pittsburgh	Business
Chanelle Jones	Crossland HS		Morgan State Univ	Social Sciences
Jalen Lee	Charles Flowers		Delaware State	Transportation
Marvin Manassa	DeMatha		Stevenson Univ	Graphic Design
Duane Mason Jr.	Potomac HS		Bowie State Univ	Social Sciences
Evan Miller	Suitland HS		Shenandoah Univ	Music Performance
Darius T. Moore	Bishop McNamara		Morgan State Univ	Screenwriting & Animation
Graceson Moore	Suitland HS		Towson Univ	Arts & Humanities
Tiarra Rush	Bishop McNamara		Towson Univ	Business
Most Improved Student Award, 8th Grade Holy Family School				
Tyler Faison		DeMatha Catholic High School		
Outstanding Student Award, 8th Grade Holy Family School				
Jada Smith		St. Jerome Institute		
<u> </u>				

CONGRATULATIONS EVERYONE!!