

For Immediate Release Contact: Lori Sayler, NDDFS Director Lori.sayler@nddfs.org 701-328-5702 1-888-592-8540

Dollars for Scholars Volunteers Highlighted in North Dakota

(Bismarck, ND): Seventy-five thousand dollars was awarded for scholarships for North Dakota students at the North Dakota Dollars for Scholars (NDDFS) Appreciation Luncheon on Saturday, October 16, 2010.

North Dakota has 84 Dollars for Scholars chapters that distribute more than \$1.3 million to North Dakota's students each year. This effort is made tirelessly by community volunteers for the most part. In an ongoing attempt to "educate, honor, and inspire" these volunteers, the State Office of Dollars for Scholars teamed up with its administrator, Bank of North Dakota (BND), for its third annual event.

Fifty of the 84 chapters were represented. Each chapter represented received a \$500 scholarship from BND and NDDFS for a student in its community.

SEE LIST OF ATTENDEES BELOW FOR YOUR AREA DFS REPRESENTATIVES

New this year is money for Collegiate Partners to give to their returning students. Nine North Dakota colleges accepted dollars in person from Bank of North Dakota to help returning students with scholarships. A total of \$50,000 is being given to the 11 state schools, 5 tribal colleges, 4 private colleges, one nursing college and 7 hair design schools. A minimum of \$500 will go to each school. ***SEE LIST OF ATTENDEES BELOW FOR YOUR AREA COLLEGE REPRESENTATIVE***

Some criteria for the Collegiate Partner donation include:

- Colleges must match the dollars received from BND.
- Students who receive the funds must have a DFS chapter in their hometowns.
- The dollars are reserved for second, third and fourth-year students.

"We understand the importance of an educated workforce in North Dakota," explained Eric Hardmeyer, BND president. "We support North Dakotans in their pursuit of higher education and believe in the mission of Dollars for Scholars. The relationship it has with its Collegiate Partners is important for the students of this state in continuing their education."

Scholarship America, the parent organization to Dollars for Scholars, had a presence at this year's event as well. The program was expanded to include a morning training session which included information on technology tools and chapter operations.

At the luncheon, recognition was given to the past year's donors, a past scholarship recipient spoke about the importance of Dollars for Scholars, and keynote speaker, Sr. Thomas Welder, president emerita of the University of Mary, presented an uplifting message regarding access to education.

Bonnie Krause of Hazen Dollars for Scholars was the recipient of this year's Chapter Hero Award from NDDFS. Bonnie has been with her hometown chapter since its inception in 1991. During her tenure Bonnie has coordinated the scholarship committee and judging of applications. She works closely with potential donors to establish criteria for new scholarships, assists with numerous fundraisers and has been successful in recruiting and mentoring new board members. Bonnie's efforts for the Dollars for Scholars program has provided 40 scholarships to Hazen students totaling \$25,625.

"We are so pleased to have the opportunity to celebrate the efforts of volunteers across North Dakota who work to help students achieve their dream of education beyond high school," said Lori Sayler, NDDFS director. "This event is a terrific way to kick off a new school year for local chapters and serve as a 'thank you' for the previous year's accomplishments."

For more information regarding North Dakota Dollars for Scholars, visit www.nddfs.org.

###

NAME **CHAPTER** Al Feist **Hebron DFS** Erma Klein Hebron DFS Barb Kendall Adams-Edmore DFS Adams-Edmore DFS Joan Skjervheim Kindred DFS Carlotta Spelhaug Janet Luick Kindred DFS Michigan-Unity-Dakota Prairie DFS Cathy Myrum Kathy Berdal Michigan-Unity-Dakota Prairie DFS Northern Cass DFS **Gene Foster** Glenn and Carol Dahlstrom Hillsboro DFS Eric Gunderson **Central Valley DFS** Ida McCombs TGU DFS Julie Fischer Grant County DFS Lorele leithold Grant County DFS Joanne Sundeen Lakota DFS **Rita and Dennis Jungles Griggs County DFS Ruleen McMillian Barnes County North DFS** Kay Albrecht **Barnes County North DFS** Gale Nicholson Hazelton-Moffit-Braddock DFs **Cindy Schmidt** Hazelton-Moffit-Braddock DFs **Diane Hensen** Glenburn DFS

Dollars for Scholars Chapter Representatives in Attendance

Dwight Dockter Tena Lawrence **Robin Knutson** Leone Kramer **Bonnie Krause** Chuck Stroup Amy Ferebee Sandi Rohde Mark and Diane Kolschofsky Marlene Mack Peg Nygaard Debbie Axtman Alane Ferrara Kathleen Henjum Marty Toepke-Floyd Kim Kobilansky Kathy Hertz Sue and Dick Hendrickson Nathanial Buynak Jennie Birdsell Janel Braun Craig Reynolds Sandy Fossum Cari Liebel **Bob Entringer** Laura Entzel Kent and Rebecca Buss Sharon Hanson Paul Tinjum Wanda Laducer Lori Schara Judy Beaudry Larry and Bea Katcher Diane Muske Jan Hird Wanda Follman Judy Sparks Jan Pratt Donna Seaboy Joann Isaacson Tracy Lipetzesky Lora Lee Rude Lisa Engels

Hope DFS Jamestown DFS Milnor DFS Milnor Hazen Hazen Halliday Halliday Drake Drake **Divide County** Divide County Minot Minot Wishek Glen Ullin Glen Ullin Garrison Mohall-Lansford-Sherwood Wilton Belfield Stanley Hankinson-Mantador Watford City Bismarck **Bismarck** Central Cass Turtle Lake-Mercer Maple Valley **Turtle Mountain** Dickinson Washburn Washburn LHS(LaMoure) LHS(LaMoure) Wolford Bowman Area Mandan Mandan Edgeley Carringon Burke County New Rockford

Collegiate Partners in Attendance

Crystal Bontjes	Rasmussen College (Bismarck and Fargo)
Betty Schumacher	Valley City State University
Donna Seaboy	Sitting Bull College
Wanda Laducer	Turtle Mountain Community College
Jodi Zahn	JZ Trend Academy
Lori Schara	Dickinson State University
Bob Neas	North Dakota State University
Sr. Thomas Welder	University of Mary
Tena Lawrence	Jamestown College